You must be at least 18 years of age with a High School diploma or GED. 60 hours of Prelicensing fundamentals classes must be completed in order to take the Tennessee State Exam. In addition to passing the exam, you must complete a 30-hour Course for New Affiliates that will help you get started. Then you may affiliate with a Real Estate Broker and then apply for an affiliate broker license.
The 60 hours of Prelicensing education can be completed in as little as two weeks. Some people schedule the exam for the following week. Completing all requirements can be done in approximately a month. The real estate industry has a short entry period for such wonderful opportunities.
CLI has 39+ years of experience preparing students to pass the real estate exam and keep their licenses. Tens of thousands of graduates attest to the quality education they received. Additional reasons include:
The current economic climate has caused a lot of people to wonder if this is a good time to get started in real estate. If you’re not a hard worker, you should not consider this industry now or probably at any time.
This could be the best time to get started for several reasons:
Yes, many real estate companies are actively looking for new agents, both full and part time.
No. One of the exciting things about real estate is you can get started full time or part time. Many agents start while working another full time job until they begin earning enough to go full time.
You may complete any education requirements and then retire your license. By paying a small renewal fee, you can keep it in a retired status until you are ready to be active again.
By law, if you want to change companies, the real estate broker cannot refuse. There is a small change fee and a form to be completed.
Your income is only limited by how hard and smart you work. Some new agents think this is a “get rich quick” profession, and they are sadly disappointed. With hard work, diligence, honesty, and continuing to learn the craft, you can earn an extremely high income. At the same time, you can enjoy great satisfaction as you help people with what is often their biggest financial decision.
Yes, all Affiliate Brokers must complete 16 hours of approved continuing education every two years for renewal of the license. CLI has a wide variety of Continuing Education Courses to help you meet this requirement.
Tennessee does allow this, but from experience, CLI encourages students to take the course live. We constantly receive calls from students taking online courses who don’t understand the material and have questions. Often they want to drop out and take our course instead. Over the years we’ve found the best way to fully understand the material and confidently take the exam is to have an experienced instructor walk you through the material in an environment that allows for questions and practice.
*Note: Current Pre-license classes are offered through Zoom.
The initial licensee in Tennessee is called an Affiliate Broker. Each Affiliate Broker must place their license with a Broker. To become a Broker you must have at least three years experience, complete 120 hours of education and pass the Broker exam. You may still work with another real estate company or you may now start your own company.
No. Being an Affiliate Broker means you have a license from the Tennessee Real Estate Commission which is the state governing body. Becoming a Realtor means you have joined the National Association of Realtors which is a trade association. There is no requirement in Tennessee to join the association although a majority of agents are Realtors and are part of their local association.